Penalties under New Jersey Law for Driving While License Suspended, N.J.S.A. 39:3-40

Penalties for Driving with License Suspended, N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, New Jersey, Motor Vehicle Commission, MVC, Department of Motor Vehicles, DMV, suspension, revocation, forfeiture, restoration, license restoration, Atlantic County, Bergen County, Burlington County, Camden County, Cape May County, Cumberland County, Essex County, Gloucester County, Hudson County, Hunterdon County, Mercer County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Morris County, Ocean County, Passaic County, Salem County, Somerset County, Sussex County, Union County, Warren County, criminal defense, traffic ticket, juvenile, attorney, lawyer

This interactive grid provides the sentencing ranges for Driving While License Suspended in New Jersey. It does not, however, include collateral consequences of a Driving While License Suspended conviction. Moreover, all this is for informational purposes only. It is not presented for the purpose of providing legal advice and does not constitute an offer to represent you. Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. If you need legal assistance please contact and hire a lawyer. Before making your choice of attorney, you should give this matter careful thought. The selection of an attorney is an important decision.

Penalties for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40

Offense Fines & Costs License Suspension County Jail Sentence
1 $539 6 months N/A
2 $789 6 months 5 days
3+ $1,039 6 months 10 days

Penalties for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(1) – (f)(2)

Offense Fines & Costs License Suspension County Jail Sentence
1 $1,039 12-30 months 90 days
2 $1,289 12-30 months 90 days
3+ $1,539 12-30 months 90 days

Penalties for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(f)(3)

Offense Fines & Costs License Suspension County Jail Sentence
1 $1,039 12-30 months 90 days
2 $1,289 12-30 months 150 days
3+ $1,539 12-30 months 180 days

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(g)

Offense Fines & Costs License Suspension County Jail Sentence Additional MVC Fines
1 $539 6 months N/A $3,000
2 $789 6 months 5 days $3,000
3+ $1,039 6 months 10 days $3,000

Additional Penalties

Revocation of all Registration Certificates if prior conviction of 39:3-40 within 5 years of current offense. Additionally, if second or third 39:3-40 involves a motor vehicle moving violation, then the jail sentence is 10 days longer than prior 39:3-40 conviction.