Fictitious Police Report, N.J.S.A. 2c:28-4
Under New Jersey law, it is a Fourth Degree Crime if a person
- reports or causes to be reported to law enforcement authorities an offense or other incident within their concern knowing that it did not occur; or
- pretends to furnish or causes to be furnished such authorities with information relating to an offense or incident when he knows he has no information relating to such offense or incident.
Fictitious Police Report, Penalties
This crime is punishable by:
State Prison: Up to 18 months
Safe Neighborhood Services Fund Assessment: $75
Domestic Violence Surcharge (if applicable): $100
Did the cops charge you with Fictitious Police Report?
New Jersey Criminal Attorney Michael A. Smolensky, Esquire, knows how to protect his clients. Mr. Smolensky can provide confidential consultations in all cases involving charges of Fictitious Police Report under N.J.S.A. 2c:28-4.