Hudson County authorities have charged a Nissan Titan operator with Driving While Intoxicated, per nj dot com. News reports claim North Bergen cops responded to the area of Tonnelle Avenue and 54th Street for a crash report. Authorities allege the crash occurred as the pickup truck travelled south on the four-lane road near 54th Street. Responding officers arrived to find four vehicles involved in a collision and six injured individuals, per the news. The Hudson County Regional Collision Investigation Unit and North Bergen cops claim the motorist struck a northbound Nissan Murano. Authorities also claim the Titan pushed the Murano into two other vehicles. The investigation is ongoing. This balance of this page will set forth the penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey.
Penalties for Drunk Driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
The following grid summarizes the penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey. These penalties for drunk driving apply to anyone charged with DWI on or after December 1, 2019. Please note, however, this grid is only a summary. For example, it does not include collateral consequences of a DUI conviction. Additionally, the legal equation to calculate prior offenses exceeds the scope of this post. Furthermore, a conviction might involve consecutive license suspensions. Therefore, if the cops charged you with Driving While Intoxicated, Refusal, or any other traffic offense, then call me. The information on this web site is only for informational purposes.
|1st Offense, .08%-.09%||1st Offense, .10%-.14%||1st Offense, .15%+||2nd Offense||3rd+ Offense|
|License Forfeiture1||Until Ignition Interlock Installation||Until Ignition Interlock Installation||4 – 6 months with Ignition Interlock Installation||1 – 2 years||8 years|
|Ignition Interlock Device2||3 months||7 – 12 months||13 – 21 months||3 – 6 years||10 – 12 years|
|Fines3||$257 – $407||$307 – $507||$307 – $507||$507 – $1,007||$1,007|
|Mandatory Penalties and Court Costs4||$383||$383||$383||$383||$383|
|IDRC5||12 – 48 hours||12 – 48 hours||12 – 48 hours||48 hours||12 hours|
|Jail6||Up to 30 days||Up to 30 days||Up to 30 days||2 days – 90 days||180 days|
1 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1) – N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3).
2 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.17
3 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1) – N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3).
4 N.J.S.A. 22A:3-4 ($33 Court Costs), N.J.S.A. 2c:43-3.1 ($50 VCCO), N.J.S.A. 2c:43-3.2 ($75 SNF), N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.8 ($100 DDE), N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(i) ($125 DUI Surcharge) (Different from collateral MVC Surcharges)
5 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(1) – N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3).
7 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(2). See also N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(h) (supervised visitation program as a term of probation).
New Jersey DWI Lawyer Michael A. Smolensky, Esquire, knows how to protect his clients. Mr. Smolensky can provide confidential consultations in all cases involving DWI, Refusal, and any other offense under the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Code. Call Now–(856) 812-0321