Police in Berlin, New Jersey, recently charged a woman with drunken driving
, per the news. Not your run-of-the-mill arrest, however, this incident brought out local police, fire, and EMS. Indeed, the police found the vehicle on a front lawn upside down where it tore into the front of a home. Consequently, the collision caused the removal of siding, and it left a hole around a window, too. Upon arrival, the authorities found the woman standing outside the vehicle and a passenger inside it. The police removed the uninjured passenger. Additionally, authorities reported no one in the residence was injured. Consequently, the cops charged the woman with DWI
and other traffic offenses. This post will provide a grid with drunk driving penalties under New Jersey law.
Drunk Driving Penalties
This interactive grid provides the sentencing ranges for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey. It does not include collateral consequences of a DWI conviction. And all this is for informational purposes only. It is not presented for the purpose of providing legal advice and does not constitute an offer to represent you. Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. If you need legal assistance please contact and hire a lawyer. Before making your choice of attorney, you should give this matter careful thought. The selection of an attorney is an important decision.
1st Offense, BAC<0.10%
1st Offense, BAC≥0.10%
At least 48 hours
6–12 months, discretionary
6–12 months, discretionary for BAC<0.15%