Penalties for Drunk Driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

Penalties for Drunk Driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, New Jersey, Alcotest, Walk and Turn Test, One-Leg Stand Test, Nystagmus Test Procedures, Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, Vertical Gaze Nystagmus, standardized field sobriety tests, Driving While Intoxicated, DWI, Driving Under the Influence, DUI, Atlantic County, Bergen County, Burlington County, Camden County, Cape May County, Cumberland County, Essex County, Gloucester County, Hudson County, Hunterdon County, Mercer County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Morris County, Ocean County, Passaic County, Salem County, Somerset County, Sussex County, Union County, Warren County, criminal defense, traffic ticket, juvenile, attorney, lawyerCan you say bah humbug? This December, drunk driving enforcement in the Garden State will make many motorists feel Scrooged. Indeed, New Jersey’s DWI holiday ticket blitz is in full swing. Lasting until New Year’s Day, 133 police departments received grants totaling $600,000, per NJ dot com. These grants will fund checkpoints and extra patrols. This time last year, the cops arrested 1,269 drivers allegedly impaired by alcohol or drugs. Additionally, they issued 5,705 speeding tickets and 3,125 seat belt tickets. Notably, New Jersey’s amended penalties for drunk driving went into effect December 1, 2019. The remainder of this post covers these legal updates.

Penalties for Drunk Driving, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50

This grid summarizes the ranges of penalties for drunk driving in New Jersey. These penalties for drunk driving apply to anyone charged with DWI on or after December 1, 2019.

But this grid is only a summary. For example, it does not include collateral consequences of a DUI conviction. Additionally, the legal equation to calculate prior offenses exceeds the scope of this post. Furthermore, a conviction might involve consecutive license suspensions.

Therefore, if the cops charged you with Driving While Intoxicated, Refusal, or any other traffic offense, then call me. The information on this web site is only for informational purposes.

1st Offense, 0.08%–0.09%
1st Offense, 0.10%–0.14%
1st Offense, 0.15%+
2nd Offense
3rd+ Offense
License Forfeiture
Until Ignition Interlock Installation
Until Ignition Interlock Installation
4–6 months with Ignition Interlock Installation
12–24 months
96 months
Ignition Interlock Device
3 months
7–12 months
13–21 months
36–72 months
120–144 months
Fines
$250–$400
$300–$500
$300–$500
$500–$1,000
$1,000
IDRC
12–48 hours
12–48 hours
12–48 hours
At least 48 hours
12 hours
Jail
Up to 30 Days
Up to 30 Days
Up to 30 Days
48 Hours – 90 Days
180 Days
Community Service
N/A
N/A
N/A
30 Days
N/A


Did the cops charge you with Drunk Driving?

New Jersey DWI Lawyer Michael A. Smolensky, Esquire, knows how to protect his clients. Mr. Smolensky can provide confidential consultations in all cases involving DWI, Refusal, and any other offense under the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Code.